Welcome to Bangladesh Pharmaceutical Society (Registered Under The Societies Act XXI 1860)

About BPS
Executive Committee
BPS Journals
BPS Membership
World Pharma News
Regulatory Authorities
Pharma Industries
Pharma Education
Related Links
Contact Us


  Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Dhaka
Established in 1965 as a Department of Dhaka University, It was the first pharmacy education home in the country. Later in 1995 it was converted to a full faculty. It is the leading pharmacy education institute with three most prominent Departments in the arena of Pharmacy.
Faculty at a glance
Dean (Acting) Prof. Dr. Chowdhury Mahmood Hasan
Chairperson, Dept. of Pharmaceutical Chemistry Prof. Dr. Mrs. Nurun Nahar Rahman
Chairman, Dept. of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacology Prof. Dr. Munir Uddin Ahmed.
Chairman, Dept. of Pharmaceutics & Pharmaceutical Technology Prof. A B M Faroque.


Members of the Faculty

  1. Professor Mrs Nurun Nahar Rahman – Chairperson , M.Pharm, PhD ( London )
  2. Professor Emeritus Dr Abdul Jabbar , MSc, DIC, PhD ( London )
  3. Professor Chowdhury Mahmud Hasan, M Pharm , PhD ( Strathclyde)
  4. Professor Mrs Rebeca Banu, M Pharm, PhD ( Bradford )
  5. Professor Mohammad Abdur Rashid, M Pharm, PhD ( Strathclyde)
  6. Professor Mrs Monira Ahsan, M Pharm, PhD ( Strathclyde)
  7. Professor Amzad Hosain , MSc, PhD ( Delhi) ( On Vacation )
  8. Mr Khondakar Mirazur Rahman, M Pharm, Lecturer
  9. Mr Rasheduzzaman Chowdhury, M Pharm, Lecturer
  10. Mr Mohiuddin Abdul Quadir, M Pharm, Lecturer
  11. Mr M. A Mazid, M Pharm, M Phil ,Lecturer
  1. Professor A.B.M. Farouq --- Chairman, M Pharm
  2. Professor Bidyut Kanti Datta , MSc, D Biotech ( Japan ), PhD ( India)
  3. Professor Reza ul Jalil, M Pharm, PhD ( London )
  4. Professor Mohammad Habibur Rahman, M Pharm , PhD ( Kumamto )
  5. Dr. Abu Sara Shamsur Rouf, Associate Professor , M Pharm, PhD ( Okaiyama)
  6. Dr Mohammad Selim Reza, Associate Professor, M Pharm , PhD ( Strathclyde ) ( On Vacation )
  7. Dr Sitesh Chandra Bachar. Associate Professor, M Pharm , PhD ( Jadabpur )
  8. Mrs Eva Rahman Kabir Assistant Professor, M Pharm
  9. Mr Jaideb Kumar Kundu Assistant Professor, M Pharm ( On Vacation )
  10. Dr S Sabbir Haider, Assistant Professor , M Pharm, PhD ( Okaiyama)
  1. Professor Nazmul Quais – Chairman, M Pharm , PhD ( Okaiyama)
  2. Professor Abul Kalam Azad Chowdhury, MSc, PhD ( Manchester )
  3. Professor Muniruddin Ahmed , M.Pharm ,PhD ( West Berlin )
  4. Mrs Farida Begum , Associate Professor , MSc ( Karachi)
  5. Mrs Bilkis Begum, Associate Professor , M Pharm
  6. Dr. Mohammad Saiful Islam, Associate Professor , M Pharm, PhD ( Osaka)
  7. Dr C Foyez Hosain, Associate Professor , M Pharm (Chiba), PhD (Chiba) ( On Vacation )
  8. Dr. Mohammad Omar Faruk Khan, Assistant Professor, M Pharm, PhD ( Manchester ) ( On Vacation)
  9. Mrs Soheli Pervin, Assistant Professor, M Pharm ( On Vacation )
  10. Dr Mohammad Sawkat Ali, Assistant Professor, M Pharm , PhD ( Toyoma )
  11. Dr S M Abdur Rahman, Assistant Professor, M Pharm, PhD ( Osaka)
  12. Dr Abul Hasnat, Assistant Professor, M Pharm, PhD ( Manchester )

Courses Offered

4 year Bachelof of Pharmacy (B. Pharm.) courses are offered by this faculty. Among the subjects there are Inorganic, Organic and Physical Pharmacy, Pharmacognosy, Physiology, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Pharmaceutical Technology and Engineering, Biopharmaceutics, Medicinal Chemistry and Advanced Medicinal Chemistry are main. Besides the students have to learn Computer Science, Statistics and Mathematics, Pharmaceutical Management and Marketing and Cosmetology in addition.

After completion of the Honors courses the students can get admitted to any of the three Departments offered by the faculty.

Admission and Contact

Each year depending on the merit the students get admission to this faculty by the University admission test in Ka unit. The Exam and Admission rules are provided by the Deans office at Curzon Hall, Dhaka University, Ramna.

For more information please visit the official website of the Faculty www.pharmadu.net.